

CONSTANTINE IX

ROYO Y IMPERAD

A.S. 277

JANUARY, 2021

No.1 of 2021

An Act relating to the Guide of our Government and codification of our Precedents

Assented to on the 12th of January, 2021

E IT ENACTED, by the Office of the Prime Minister of the New

Sarovian Empire and Her Colonies and Dominions, with the advice and consent of the Imperial Parliament thereof, as follows:

The New Government Guide Act

- 1. All newly elected Governments must conduct the below within the respective time frames. There is a fine up to 5,000 Saros for any Prime Minister and Cabinet Members who are a part of the Government who break the following rules:
 - a) All Members of Parliament must be sworn in by His Imperial Majesty the Emperor, the Lord President of the Privy Council, a Supreme Court Justice or a representative of HIM the Emperor after their electoral victory, no greater than forty eight hours. Special exemptions may be asked but not guaranteed to be granted, not exceeding 72 hours.
 - b) The leader of the party with the most seats must meet with His Imperial Majesty the Emperor in a VC or personal meeting upon their victory, and agree upon a schedule that for 1 hour every week, the two must meet and discuss legislation and diplomacy at Stenhammer or Leda Palace. It is vital the Prime Minister and His Imperial Majesty meet.
 - c) The Prime Minister must create their Cabinet within four days of being sworn in.
 Ministers can hold more than one Ministry (such as Minister of Development can also be the Minister of Tradition and Culture) and appoint at least four of the following:
 - i) Minister of Foreign Affairs, (His Imperial Majesty's Diplomatic Corps)
 - ii) Minister of Finance, (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Finance)
 - iii) Minister of Development, (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Development)
 - iv) Minister of Tradition and Culture, (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Culture)
 - v) Minister of Defence, (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Defence)
 - vi) Minister for the Colonies and Commonwealth, (His Imperial's Majesty's Commonwealth Corps)
 - vii) Minister for the Public Service, (Ministry of Public Works and Government Services)
 - viii) Minister of Education, (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Education)
 - ix) President of the Treasury Board (His Imperial Majesty's Treasury Board)
 - x) And the Minister of Justice (His Imperial Majesty's Ministry of Justice)

- d) Some Ministries can not be shared with other positions. The Minister of Finance cannot also be the President of the Treasury Board. The Prime Minister cannot be the Minister of Justice. The Minister of Defence cannot be the Field Marshal of the Empire.
- e) A Cabinet minister does not have to be elected, but they may not attend Parliament or vote. As such, Cabinet ministers may be Peers, but may not attend votes in the Commons.
- f) The Prime Minister and their party must call the entire Parliament (House of Commons and Assembly of Peers) to a Throne Speech no later than six days after their electoral win. This speech must be written by the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.
- g) The House of Commons must elect a Speaker of the House via majority vote. The Speaker must be an incumbent Member of Parliament. The Speaker of the House is neutral in all cases except for a tiebreak and is the one who manages the session.
- h) The Prime Minister must, in their first parliamentary session (after the Emperor has done his Throne Speech) propose their budget to be voted on. Should the budget fail to pass, the entire Cabinet will resign including the Prime Minister, and a new Member of Parliament will be chosen by the Emperor to form a government in the majority party.
- i) The Prime Minister must, within the first week of their electoral win, decide the Parliamentary schedule for the next month (though this may be amended easily later.) This must consist of 1 appearance of the House of Commons per week with 20 minutes dedicated to Question Period.
- j) The Assembly of Peers must meet on the 8th and 25th of every month.
- k) The Government must mandate a dress code for Parliament, consisting of suits and or dresses, and enforce it. Military uniforms should be avoided at all costs and a Member of Parliament may be refused entry to an unacceptable dress code.

Government Hierarchy

1. A Government hierarchy is established via this organisational chart. It can be viewed by clicking <u>here</u>. A larger organisational chart which includes organisations other than the Cabinet can be viewed by clicking <u>here</u>.

Government Memos and Documentation

1. His Imperial Majesty's Government has three types of documentation it can write and publish. The first is the red book, otherwise known as the Minister's Book. The Minister's Book are private policy books compiled to be given to His Imperial Majesty in his weekly red box. Red books (or red papers) are usually confidential reports on the recent updates of the individual minister's ministry. The second are blue books, or blue papers. Blue papers are

usually made for reporting statistics and numbers, such as Finance Minister numbers, salaries, army rosters and the like. The final are white papers, which can be policy proposals or implementations made public. Anyone can write white or blue papers, but only Ministers may write red papers for His Imperial Majesty's red box.